Into the Inferno: A Photographer's Journey through California's Megafires and Fallout
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Blackstone Publishing, 2022.
Format
eBook
ISBN
9781094186832
Status
Available Online

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

More Details

Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Stuart Palley., & Stuart Palley|AUTHOR. (2022). Into the Inferno: A Photographer's Journey through California's Megafires and Fallout . Blackstone Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Stuart Palley and Stuart Palley|AUTHOR. 2022. Into the Inferno: A Photographer's Journey Through California's Megafires and Fallout. Blackstone Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Stuart Palley and Stuart Palley|AUTHOR. Into the Inferno: A Photographer's Journey Through California's Megafires and Fallout Blackstone Publishing, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Stuart Palley, and Stuart Palley|AUTHOR. Into the Inferno: A Photographer's Journey Through California's Megafires and Fallout Blackstone Publishing, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc628e323-e0d0-6859-161b-d84f5ba78f3b-eng
Full titleinto the inferno a photographers journey through californias megafires and fallout
Authorpalley stuart
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-03-12 15:26:03PM
Last Indexed2024-04-13 06:16:07AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedJun 6, 2023
Borrowed OnApr 13, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2022
    [artist] => Stuart Palley
    [fiction] => 
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/bsa_9781094186832_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 15140769
    [isbn] => 9781094186832
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Into the Inferno
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Stuart Palley
                    [artistFormal] => Palley, Stuart
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Artists, Architects, Photographers
            [1] => Biography & Autobiography
            [2] => Fire & Emergency Services
            [3] => Natural Disasters
            [4] => Nature
            [5] => Personal Memoirs
            [6] => Photography
            [7] => Photojournalism
        )

    [price] => 0.99
    [id] => 15140769
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => In the tradition of Young Men and Fire and Fire on the Mountain, Stuart Palley's memoir Into the Inferno documents eight years of devastating wildfire in California, showing how fire can transform a landscape as well as a soul...
For nearly a decade, Palley has been on the frontline of fire. He has witnessed homeowners on the worst day of their lives. He's seen puddles of aluminum where cars were once parked. He's watched as 150-foot walls of flame cascaded down mountainsides and crashed into the Pacific Ocean. And he's captured, time and again, the tireless commitment of firefighters as they work to save lives and homes, in terrain where fire always seems to have the upper hand.
In this memoir, Palley recalls how he went from learning to be safe on the fireline to a fire-savvy documentarian of wildfire and climate change. He covers some of California's largest, most destructive, and deadliest fires between 2012 and 2020, lugging his gear from the Wine Country Fire Siege to the Thomas Fire and ultimately to the Woolsey Fire in Malibu. And he shows how, in a relatively short span of time, fire season in California has grown into a perpetual crisis, requiring billions of dollars and thousands of firefighters each year.
Ultimately, the experiences, the voices, the science shared in the memoir form an urgent call for climate action. Into the Inferno stands alongside Palley's photography to show just what kind of environmental tragedy we can expect if we do nothing.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15140769
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Photographer's Journey through California's Megafires and Fallout
    [publisher] => Blackstone Publishing
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)

Description

Loading Description...